Best for small must for all
Home city guide administration

Administration of Mokokchung

The Deputy Commissioner is responsible for the maintenance of law and order in Mokokchung. Mokokchung has political importance in Nagaland. Mokokchung falls in Mokokchung town (ST) Assembly Constituency. Some parts of the town like Aonglenden and Mongoya also fall under three other state assembly constituencies. Alichen-Mokokchung-DEF is the largest urban agglomeration area of the district.

Sub divisions

Mokokchung has three sub divisions namely

  • Tuli
  • Changtongya
  • Mangkolemba


Wards in Mokokchung town are
  1. Kumlong   
  2. Aongza
  3. Penli
  4. Majakong
  5. Salangtem
  6. Sangtemla
  7. Yimyu
  8. Alempang
  9. Sungkomen
  10. Kichutip
  11. Tongdentsuyong
  12. Artang
  13. Arkong
  14. Dilong
  15. Alongmen
  16. Marepkong
  17. Lijabalijen
  18. Mongsenbai

Urban Centres

Mokokchung Metropolitan Area: Mokokchung Metropolitan Area is a major urban agglomeration in Mokokchung district. Mokokchung town is the main urban hub. It is also known as Alichen-Mokokchung-DEF agglomeration. The place is a settlement from Alichen in the south, through Mokokchung town up to Amenyoung and Khensa in the northwest and from Mokokchung town through Fazl Ali College up to DEF colony in the northeast.

Tuli: Tuli is a town in Mokokchung district. It is situated 80 km north of Mokokchung. The town consists of two main areas – Tuli headquarter and Tzudikong. It is the second largest town in the Mokokchung district after Mokokchung and the largest non district headquarter town in Nagaland. Tuli falls under 21 Tuli Assembly Constituency of the Nagaland Legislative Assembly.

Changtonya: It is a hilly town in Mokokchung district. It is situated 40 km each north of Mokokchung and south of Tuli. National Highway 61 passes through the town.

  • E-mail

Comments / Discussion Board - Administration of Mokokchung